Public Pedagogy: Politicizing the Personal

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Public Pedagogy: Politicizing the Personal

  1. S. Izzo says:

    Are you holding a baby in one hand and books in another? Are you wearing a cape or apron? Sometimes I feel like I am stuck in the “Decision House”. Should I read my books (homework, housework, grading?) or should I spend time with family (wife, baby?) Whats for dinner? What shall we play with first? Should I put on the apron or the Superdad cape? Hmmm? Decisions, decisions.

    • lauram6 says:

      I am holding a baby and books- symbolizing family and the role of a mother, and education and career. In the image I am merged with the female image on the restroom sign referring to the stereotypes of women that the symbol portrays. You raise an important point that men face this same struggle that women face.

  2. Hi Laura,
    It’s hard to see, but it looks like it might be your face pasted onto the “woman” figure of a sign that would hang outside of the “Decision Room.” On the one side is a baby. On the other, a stack of books. To me, it shows that you are in a dilemma because you would like to have a career and you would like to have a family, but it’s difficult if not impossible to put full energy into both. This is a dilemma that I have often felt as well. I feel like I need to get my career figured out before I can think about getting married.

    Maybe I am completely misinterpreting it…

    Is there a significance to R120?

    • lauram6 says:

      Youre exactly right. The sign is a photo of a womens restroom sign i took, so there is no significance of r120. I liked the play on the restroom sign symbol of the female. The symbol seems to embody harsh stereotypes of what it means to be a woman. This comments on the pressures to fill that stereotypical role and other passions that dont fit that role.

  3. Heather says:

    I’m sure there are so many decisions to be made for even yourself let alone your child when you’re a mom. I thought about that the other day when I was closing up the classroom, completely exhausted and ready go home for peace and quiet. I thought of all the teacher/moms that are out there and wow, it really made me feel guilty. How is it done? Superhuman strength of mind body and soul.
    March, what do you suppose is the harshest stereotype of women today?

Leave a comment